Jim DeMint Says Members of Congress Take an Oath To Be Far Right Conservatives

Blue Texan notices that Jim DeMint has re-written the congressional oath of office in the far right image (emphasis in original):

It appears that, for Senator DeMint (T-SC), the only members of Congress that haven’t violated their oath of office are hard-right conservatives.

Supposedly, after we all pledge to a limited government, we can work together and debate how to do that. But the Democrats have completely forgotten that oath, and so have some Republicans. I hope those Republicans are sent home. And I hope we get some people up here who take their oath of office seriously.

Here’s the text of the oath of office:

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter: So help me God.

Nope. There’s no “pledge to a limited government” in there.

And for all the nutty things Jim DeMint has said, the idea everyone except him and Michele Bachmann are guilty of violating their oaths just might be the nuttiest.

spotlight

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics

Leave a comment